Schengen Agreement United Kingdom

The United Kingdom and Ireland participated in certain aspects of the Schengen Agreement from 2000 and 2002, such as the Schengen Information System (SIS). The United Kingdom Coordination Group of the European Parliament recently drafted a resolution in which a reciprocal agreement on visa-free between the two countries is needed after negotiations begin. This would allow eu and UK travellers to continue travelling for tourism, education, research, training and youth exchanges. Four third countries – Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Iceland – are members of the region. Countries outside the zone impose border controls on travellers from the Schengen area, but many of them have visa-free travel regimes as EU members or countries that have signed visa-free travel agreements with Schengen states. It has even been proposed that the UK`s access to the SIS II suspect database could be completely blocked, even before the end of the transition agreement. The UK government indicated that only the acceptance of basic information rights within the SIS would be insufficient and that the country should have a level of access similar to that achieved so far. The Schengen area originally had its legal basis outside the European Economic Community at the time, since it was created by a subgroup of Community Member States using two international agreements: it takes its name from the City of Schengen in Luxembourg, where the agreement was signed in 1985. It came into force in 1995. While the UK is subject to the interim agreement with the EU, British citizens travelling to Europe only need their passports to enter other Member States. But that will change after the Brexit transition period and, from the end of 2022, ETIAS will be a prerequisite for British citizens.

Schengen states that share a common land border with a third state are allowed, in accordance with the European Union Regulation 1931/2006, to conclude or maintain bilateral agreements with neighbouring third countries for the purpose of implementing a border area system. [273] Such agreements define a border area of up to 50 km on both sides of the border and provide for the granting of permits for small border traffic for the inhabitants of the border area. Authorizations can be used to cross the EU`s external border within the border area, are not stamped when crossing the border and must include the name and photo of the holder, as well as a statement indicating that the holder is not allowed to travel outside the border area and that any abuse is punishable. The Internal Market Act would give British ministers the power to adopt rules, particularly with regard to state and trade, even if they violate the withdrawal agreement. UK ministers say these measures are needed as a safety net in case the EU should act inappropriately. However, some third-country nationals are allowed to stay more than 90 days in the Schengen area without having to apply for a long-stay visa.